Tokyo Food Feast

The word “Japan” rings good food, more good food and many, many good food in my mind. My trip would not be complete without endless feasting.

1. ICHIRAN

IMG_4373.JPGThe popular ramen restaurant. There will always be a queue even during rainy days.

IMG_4374.JPGBuy the food tickets from the vending machine outside. While waiting for the seats, you can choose how you want to cook your noodles.

IMG_4375.JPGMy order – normal soup with garlic, chili, green onions and lean meat. Added 3 sides: seaweed, mushrooms and egg

Website: https://www.ichiran.co.jp/english/

2. Gyukatsu Motomura Shinjuku

IMG_7128.JPG

IMG_7131.JPGIf you like chicken/ pork katsu, you should try this beef katsu. There was a permanent queue outside the restaurant and we queued for almost 1 hour.

IMG_7134.JPGThe beef was cooked till medium rare. For those who like it to be more well done, you can cook your meat on the hot stone.

Website: Review from TripAdvisor 

3. HARBS

Japan is famous for their cakes and dessert; their cream being light and fluffy. A popular dessert place. We ordered from the seasonal menu – chestnut cake and pear pie. I am not a dessert person and I like it.

Website: http://www.harbs.co.jp/harbs/eng_top.html

4. Gindaco

IMG_7157.JPG

IMG_7160.JPGMy favourite takoyaki in Singapore so when we saw it in Japan, it was a must try! Personally, I felt that the taste was similar to those in Singapore. I would go back again but in the evening and have them with highball.

Website: http://www.gindaco.com/

5. Matsuya

img_7161

img_7163Highly recommended by my friend – a place for cheap and nice beef bowl. I ordered a mini beef bowl with spring onions and onsen egg. I concluded my taste for food had not changed much. I ordered the exact same bowl 1 year ago when I was in Tokyo.

Website: https://www.matsuyafoods.co.jp/english/menu/gyumeshi/

6. Hoshino Coffee

img_7179There are Hoshino Coffee branches in Singapore but I have yet to try them. We were looking for a cafe to rest so we decided to give it a try. The biscuit was an add-on, not part of the coffee.

Website: http://www.hoshinocoffee.com/

7. Tavern Rokuzo

img_7189Mostunabe – beef intestine steamboat

Our side dishes – raw minced fish and stewed pumpkin. The meal would not be completed with a few glasses of highball.

img_7196After you were done with the steamboat, you could add rice and egg in the remaining soup.

img_7198The yummiest porridge even!

Website: Review from TripAdvisor

8. Tsukiji Fish Market

Feasting at Tsukiji Fish Market. Let’s count the food I had – (1) Chirashi Don, (2) Tamago, (3) Kani miso, (4) Sashimi, (5) Grilled eel, (6) Corn fishcake, (7) Snow crab

I am a super seafood lover so this was a heaven for me. As compared to Noryangjin Fisheries Wholesale Market (in Korea), I strongly recommend coming to this. Tsukiji Fish Market is way better!

How to get there: Tsukiji Market is just above Tsukiji Shijo Station on the Oedo Subway Line. Alternatively, it can be reached in a five minute walk from Tsukiji Station on the Hibiya Subway Line. The closest JR station is Shimbashi, from where you can walk to the market in about 15 minutes.

9. Sukiya

img_7276Another beef bowl with preserved vegetable and mentaiko sauce. I personally liked this beef bowl better. The preserved vegetable and the metaiko sauce was the prefect combination.

Website: http://www.sukiya.jp/

10. My Favourite

img_7264The post would not be complete without a sushi. The restaurant stated that no photo was allowed but I totally forgot about it and took this.

The eel was warm and the sauce was prefect for me. Sweet but yet not too sweet. I reordered it so many times and the chef was laughing at me.

This grilled eel sushi is from a random restaurant. We stumbled across this restaurant a year ago looking for a place for dinner on a rainy day. We remembered how good it was and were lucky enough to find the same restaurant again.

How to get there: I have no idea. Haaa. It is located near the JR Shinjuku station.

This entry was posted in Food, Travel and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

